European Space Agency Traineeship Scheme 2017




The Irish Research Council-European Space Agency Traineeship is a scheme organised jointly by the Council and the ESA. The Council fully funds science, engineering and technology graduates to undertake traineeships in ESA centres across Europe. Trainees have the opportunity to gain practical experience in high-tech space activities such as space science, earth observation, telecommunications, navigation, mission control and operations, and human spaceflight. Nominees must be of Irish or ESA member state nationality*, resident for three of the past five years in Ireland, and have completed a master’s degree or higher in the Republic of Ireland as specified in the ‘IRC-ESA traineeship 2017 opportunities’ document on or before 30 September 2017. The call is competitive and the final decision on granting the traineeship is made by the ESA.


Traineeships begin in October of each year. Traineeships last for one year with the view to extend for a second year pending on performance and agreement by all parties.


Trainees will be based at ESA stations throughout Europe, as described in the ’IRC-ESA traineeship opportunities’ document and ‘IRC-ESA Traineeship call for nominations’.

How to nominate

Nominations are only accepted via research offices from a candidate’s higher education institution in Ireland. Please refer to the ‘Call for nominations’ documents below.

Nominations open17 May 2017
FAQ deadline 23 June 2017
Nomination deadline 9am (Irish time) 10 August 2017
Interviews/selection of nominees25 August 2017
Nominees notified of final outcomeAugust 2017
Kick-off meeting and signing of contractsSeptember 2017
Traineeship commencesOctober 2017

For reasons of fairness to all nominees, queries can only be received from research offices. Frequently asked questions will be updated regularly on the Irish Research Council website. Nominees are kindly asked not to contact the Irish Research Council directly, unless there is a technical issue with the nomination form.

*This is a condition set down by ESA under the partnership agreement.